extends northward from latitude 60° N., (the boundary of British Columbia) to the Arctic ocean. Longitude 141° W. is the western boundary between Yukon and Alaska. It is bounded on the east by the Northwest Territories.

The greater part of the Yukon Territory is mountainous although in the extreme north and southeast the relief is low. The mountainous part is divided into a number of ranges and a central plateau area, all of which exhibit a general northwest trend. The St. Elias mountains in the southwest are the highest mountains in Canada and, in mount Logan (19,850 feet elevation) contain the second highest peak in North America. The Coast mountains lie northeast of the St. Elias mountains and are followed by the Yukon plateau, which is bounded on the east and north by the Mackenzie mountains and their western spur, the Ogilvie range. The plateau covers most of the southern part of the territory and forms the central part of the basin of the Yukon river. It contains a number of isolated mountain ranges distributed over it. The higher levels of the plateau are of 4,000 to 5,000 feet elevation with the exception of the ranges whose peaks reach 6,000 to 8,000 feet. The Coast and Mackenzie mountains contain a few peaks of more than 8,000 feet elevation. On the east, Yukon is drained by the tributaries of the Mackenzie river to the Arctic ocean and on the southwest by the Alsek river to the Pacific ocean.

Western and central Yukon are drained by the Yukon river to Bering sea. Whitehorse, the head of navigation on Lewes river, the main tributary of the Yukon river, has an elevation of 2,081 feet; that of Dawson on the Yukon river is 1,038 feet. The plateau is isolated on three sides by the mountains through which there is no natural, easy route of access and on the northwest it is 1,100 miles by the Yukon river from the Bering sea. The discovery of rich deposits of alluvial gold led to the construction of a railway from tidewater at Skagway on the Alaskan coast over the Coast mountains by White pass to Whitehorse. The tributaries of the Yukon river within the plateau area form 1,250 miles of connected waterways navigable for stern-wheel steamboats. This waterway with the railway has made the plateau the most accessible area of the northern territories of Canada. Dawson is the capital, chief commercial, and placer-mining centre of the territory. Whitehorse ranks next in importance, being the junction of rail and water transport and the distributing centre. Mayo is the centre of the silver-lead mining industry. In recent years roads for use throughout the year have been built in the neighbourhoods of these three places. Aeroplanes are now an important means of travel. A chain of landing fields has been built along the chief air routes.

The chief industries are mining, fur trade, tourist traffic, and big-game hunting: mining is by far the most important. For over fifty years Yukon has been a producer of gold and in more recent years silver, lead, copper, and coal have also been mined in important quantities. A wide variety of other mineral resources have been discovered distributed throughout the territory promising greater importance for mining in future. The relatively warm and dry climate for such northern latitudes enjoyed by the plateau of southern Yukon enables a wide range of garden produce and hardy grains to be grown throughout its extent. The break-up of the ice in the lakes and rivers takes place in May and navigation opens in the fourth week of that month and closes in the latter part of October.

The Northwest Territories.—The Northwest Territories consists of the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin, and Franklin. It embraces all of Canada north of the 60th parallel of latitude and east of the Yukon Territory (including also the